Milestone–Six Months of Blogging

Six Months

Well, I’ve been blogging for exactly six months today.  Look at those neat stats. Look at all the people I’ve talked to (kind of) that I never would have even known existed without this blog. It’s exciting.

I started my blog on January 1st as a way of writing down all of the thoughts that are in my head, and I’ve learned a few things since then:

1) There will always be more thoughts. 

I pretty much always write in a stream-of-conscious format, so I’m not 100% sure what I’m going to write until it’s on paper. The thing is, as soon as I start writing, my mind goes in a million directions, and so my posts are often jumbled but exciting. This is exactly what I wanted (which is what I said in my first ever post) so I’m pretty happy with the things I’ve created.

2) The blogging world is incredibly supportive.

I really didn’t expect people to read my posts on a regular basis. I started this blog for me, and anyone else that read what I wrote would just be exciting icing on the cake. I really didn’t expect to have so many people contact me with good (and bad) comments about what I’d written. Every comment or like has pushed me to write more, and I’m grateful for that.

3) There are SO many interesting blogs out there.

Really, I wish I had more time each day to read all the things that other people write. There are so many neat viewpoints and stories. I’m incredibly glad I decided to journey into this blogging world, because every day has offered me something new that I hadn’t thought about before.

4) You can’t force it

My first week, I told myself that I was going to write every single day. And I did in the beginning. But, ultimately, I was burning myself out and blogging became less fun when I had to force myself to do it. Writing every day works for some people, but not for me. I enjoy blogging casually, because it gives me a chance to reflect, and to truly put effort into the things I write. When I finally finish, I know I’m putting something up that I’m truly proud of. And that’s a nice feeling.

5) There’s always more to learn. 

I recently reread all of my blogs from the last six months, and I’m proud of most of them. I’ve improved quite a bit as a writer (I think) and I’m getting better at putting my thoughts down in a way that makes sense to other people (rather than just me). And honestly– even though there have been a few hateful comments and messages, I’m even grateful for those. Because I can’t leave well enough alone and some of my best pieces have been the ones where I respond to people that I don’t agree with.

Anyway, I look forward to seeing where the next six months will bring me. And I thank everyone who’s been with me this far. 😉

Take care of yourselves

T

3 thoughts on “Milestone–Six Months of Blogging

  1. Congratulations on your milestone! I think I’m really close to six months myself… it’s been quite an interesting journey so far. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve started my blog a while ago and, after reading your post, I’m really exited to learn as much as you did and to have such an experience. I just hope I get as much support as you did..

    Like

Leave a Reply

